Why this, why now?

I’ve been working in higher education for 13 years, developing and delivering teaching in subject-based IT and research skills, amongst other things. About 7 years ago, I developed an interest in pedagogy and learning theory, which fuelled innovation. Two years ago, I stumbled across an Alternative Reality Game, and was amazed at the levels of engagement and community within it; further research opened up a whole new approach in my teaching practice and development, and today I find myself researching and innovating in this area.

I’ll be using this blog as an emitter for some of the innovative projects I’m involved with, but primarily as a place to explore my thoughts about this rapidly emerging area of gaming and problem solving in education.

In the meantime, take a peek at ARGology.org for an overview of the genre; or better still, pull out that dusty box of Cluedo, and give it a whirl.

One response to “Why this, why now?

  1. Go on then, emit 😉

Leave a Reply

